HIO Orientations

Welcome to Harvard! Now that you have arrived (or will soon arrive) in the Boston/Cambridge area, here are some activities to help you settle in:

Virtual Group Orientation - "Getting Started - Part 1"

The HIO group orientation "Getting Started - Part 1" covers banking, social security numbers, driver's license and state IDs, health insurance, transportation, things to do in the local area, and more. The session lasts about two hours.

The orientations will take place virtually via Zoom on the following dates and times (more dates will be added):

  • Thursday, June 20 from 10 am - 12 pm ET
  • Thursday, July 11 from 10 am - 12 pm ET
  • Tuesday, July 23 from 10 am - 12 pm ET
  • Thursday, August 8 from 10 am - 12 pm ET
  • Thursday, August 22 from 10 am - 12 pm ET
  • Thursday, September 5 from 10 am - 12 pm ET
  • Thursday, September 19 from 10 am - 12 pm ET

To attend the session, please log on to Zoom at the stated time, using the link below:

Meeting Link

Virtual Group Orientation - "Getting Started - Part 2"

The HIO group orientation "Getting Started - Part 2" is for students and scholars who attended Part 1 and have follow-up questions regarding the topics covered in that session and/or questions regarding U.S. cultural concepts, English pronunciations (ex. “how do you pronounce Worcester?”), or things to do in the local area. It is intended to be an interactive session lasting up to one hour.

The orientations will take place virtually via Zoom on the following dates and times (more dates will be added):

  • Thursday, June 27 from 12 - 1 pm ET
  • Thursday, July 18 from 11 am - 12 pm ET (NOTE different time)
  • Thursday, August 1 from 12 - 1 pm ET
  • Thursday, August 15 from 12 - 1 pm ET
  • Thursday, August 29 from 12 - 1 pm ET
  • Thursday, September 12 from 12 - 1 pm ET
  • Thursday, September 26 from 12 - 1 pm ET

To attend the session, please log on to Zoom at the stated time, using the link below:

Meeting Link

Recorded J-1 Student Intern Orientation

Incoming and current J-1 Student Interns may listen to a recorded orientation session, specifically tailored to the J-1 Student Intern visa category. Much of the information is the same as the Getting Started Orientations, with a focus primarily on the J-1 Student Intern experience.

Recording link

PDF of Presentation Slides

Spouse/Partner Orientation

The HIO group orientation for spouses and partners of international students and scholars covers J-2 work permission, job and volunteer opportunities, settling-in, resources, shopping, things to do in the local area, and more. The session lasts about 75-90 minutes.

The orientations will take place virtually via Zoom on the following dates and times (more dates will be added):

  • Friday, July 19 from 10 - 11:30 am ET
  • Friday, August 16 from 10 - 11:30 am ET
  • Friday, September 13 from 10 - 11:30 am ET

To attend the session, please log on to Zoom at the stated time, using the link below:

Meeting Link

Harvard Tours

These are tours led by undergraduates of the College.  The tour covers Harvard Yard, some of the undergraduate housing, history, and urban legend.  Please register for these tours through the Information Office.